|Justify The Value Of SEO|
Most people do not set the expectations right with search engine optimization (SEO) effort. I was reminded of this when speaking with the prospect, who asked what kind of return on investment (ROI) is expected for his commitment to the EES.
“I expect an exponential growth, something like 20X the traffic that I currently do,” he said. “If we can get a number 1 ranking for a keyword, it should be sufficient to get us there, do not you think? ”
A Top Ranking Is not it enough
Your goal can not be # 1 on a keyword. This is not a goal.
What if you get the highest rank for the keyword, and something happens, like a big turn Google’s algorithm? Then you have lost your ranking for a keyword. What then?
Although everyone has one of the keywords you drool, a solid, long-term presence in search engines is one which balances its presence through a series of keywords.
A “goal” should be increased traffic, and – at the end of the day – to grow your business (more leads, more sales, and ROI).
SEO SEO vs. Paid
Many people find it easy to budget for paid search. They understand the basic principle:
* Spend a dollar for every click.
* Set a budget of $ 10 000.
* Get 10,000 clicks for keywords that I want to “rank” of.
But what if you could get 20,000 clicks to invest that same $ 10 000 in SEO, PPC advertising instead? Was not this a better deal?
To be fair, the above example is an oversimplification, only intended to make a point. The 20000 can be increased by 10 percent in “good” traffic – traffic that is relevant to know, is transformed into a lead or sale, or at least show some quality metrics (eg time on site).
Having said that at the sight, he stopped. “I never really thought that way.”
SEO ROI: No guarantees?
Do not get me wrong. I understand that SEO is very different from the PPC.
With SEO, there are no guarantees. Chances are that, for any reason, you will never achieve a solid ROI from SEO. Some of these reasons may include:
* You took the wrong people / EES.
* IT team can do what is necessary to fix things, which lead to better rankings / traffic.
* You can not / will not create content that will result in a note / traffic.
* The expectations were turned upside down to reality.
* No keyword search volume you are interested in the destination – no amount of number one ranking could never be the same ROI.
SEO can be high risk, high reward. When I say “high risk”, I do not mean the kind of high risks associated with the ability to be banned / punished in the search engines to tactics such as hacking, cloaking, spamming, etc.
My point is that even if you work as a search engine guidelines, there really are no guarantees, because we do not own the search engines. Search engines are a third party, we have zero control.
A “good” ROI on SEO
If you invest $ 10 000 per month in one SEO action (whether in personnel costs or agency), you must have an idea of what a “good king” looks like.
Maybe you’re one of those who have realized that the cost per click paid search is getting higher for keywords that have been addressed. Perhaps reached a point where it is difficult to argue that the money spent worth it?
Say you sell a $ 100 device, and net 30 percent of each sale ($ 30). If the average cost per click is $ 1 and the conversion of 10 percent on the sale of $ 100 invested in paid search clicks to a sale of $ 100 100 in which offsets $ 30.
Unless you care about brand value (which I would say that people should consider at least a little when trying to assess the PPC and SEO), is not a good ROI. In fact, this is not a return on investment. It is a waste.
What do you need this investment will pay? Without some ‘math: For every 100 visitors to convert on 10 percent will go on sale with our $ 30. We would have 3000 visitors and 300 sales. There are 300 sales would be worth $ 30,000 ($ 300 X 100/each) and there would be net of 30 percent of this (9,000 dollars).
Now we have something to work.
Do we feel that we can put $ 7000 a / month of resources (money / time, etc.) to SEO to help achieve the goal of winning 3,000 visitors? Or, perhaps the conversion rate is very late and is closer to 5 percent?
Maybe we need 6000 visitors? Are we willing to fund this “cost” (in the first months of research, etc.) to hope to achieve return on investment potential for the month, then?
When you have identified how and / or can operate SEO ROI so you can begin to discuss what value / opportunity could be and what the risks and rewards can be.